Great Moments in Hip-Hop History

On July 3rd, 2001, Lil’ Romeo released his geniously titled first album, Lil’ Romeo. With this mindblowing collection of 18 inspirational tracks, Lil’ Romeo undoubtedly changed the face of music. Forever.

His hit single, “My Baby” is a song that really speaks to me. Romeo expertly raps: I’m a little boy, but live a big man’s life. Got girls passin’ up wanna be my wife. Got grown women wanting be in my life. By the time I’m 18, I’m not gon be nothin’ nice.

Nothing this poignant has been heard in music since Mozart. And like Mozart, Lil’ Romeo entered the realm of music at a young age. A dazzling child prodigy, his first album was released just short of his twelfth birthday. At the tender age of 11, Romeo was already deeply experienced in dating matters and clearly jaded from the experience. “I don’t need a girlfriend,” he sings as “lil mami’s” pester him for his love.

Ladies, please! You think you can handle Lil’ Romeo!? No one can handle that shit. The best part of the song is its catchy, upbeat background riff. I’ve never heard anything like this before. Which is why, eight years later, I write about this life changing piece, “My Baby.” A timeless symphony.

Leave a comment